Is chicken broth halal?

I purchased a can of chicken broth from the store (not a muslim store, just regular supermarket), and i want to know if it is halal? There’s no meat in it, but then why do they call it CHICKEN broth?

There’s no halal signs on ANY of the food products sold in the US. And as i said, i bought this from a regular american supermarket, so there’s no way of honestly making sure

6 Answers

  • Its “chicken broth” presumably because they made it by simmering chicken (along with vegetables and seasonings) in water. They just didn’t put the cut-up bits of chicken in it. But if you use chicken broth as a base for gravy or other dishes, you probably wouldn’t want pieces of chicken in the broth anyway.

    As for whether its halal — I think (and I could very well be wrong about this), if its kosher, its acceptable to those who eat halal food as well. Look on the label for the kosher symbol — it will either be a U in a circle (meaning its been certified kosher by the Union of Orthodox Rabbis) or a K in a circle (which just means its kosher). If you don’t see either of those 2 symbols on the label, its NOT kosher and probably not halal either.

    But — come to think of it — most chicken or meat products that you buy in the supermarket aren’t kosher unless you get them from the Kosher Foods aisle or section of the store. If you just picked up that can of chicken broth from the regular Soup aisle, its almost certainly not kosher (or halal).

  • If there is no meat in it why is it chicken broth? Would it not just be vegetable broth? If it does not have a halal mark on it then no its not halal. They can call it chicken broth with no chicken meat in it if it is made with chicken stock.

    Why did you not just buy some tomatoe soup or some vegetable soup? Always go for a veggie option if you are not sure.

    EDIT

    They are not marked because they are not Halal its that simple. In the UK there is no Halal marks on the food in our supermarkets either soups, pies, lasagne’s etc because they are not Halal. We just dont buy them. Sorry but those are the facts. Its not Halal dont eat it…….

  • im not a muslim but most chicken broths are artifically flavored and if you can find a u or k in a circle that means its kosher and isnt kosher the same as halal

  • I would suggest you not eat it. If there is no HALAL sign on it in Arabic, then don’t eat it.

  • i think it is haram..because…In determining whether a food is Halal or Haram (forbidden), various verses of the Quran (ayat) are frequently referenced:

    “O mankind! Eat of that which is Halal and Toyyib on the earth…..” Quran 2:168

    Quran

    “He hath only forbidden you dead meat, and blood, and the

    flesh of swine, and that on which any other name hath been invoked besides that of Allah. But if one is forced by necessity, without wilful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits – then is he guiltless. For Allah is Oft-Forgiving Most Merciful” Quran 2:173

    “Forbidden to you (your food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which the name of other than Allah hath been invoked; that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been (partly) eaten by a wild animal; unless ye are able to slaughter it (in due form); that which is sacrificed on stone (altars); (forbidden) also is the division (of meat) by raffling with arrows: that is impiety. This day have those who reject Faith given up all hope of your religion: yet fear them not but fear me. This day have I perfected your religion for you, completed my favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion. But if any is forced by hunger, with no inclination of transgression, Allah is indeed Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful” Quran 5:3

    “This day are (all) good things made lawful for you. The food of those who have received the Scripture is lawful for you, and your food is lawful for them. And so are the virtuous women of the believers and the virtuous women of those who received the Scripture before you (lawful for you) when ye give them their marriage portions and live with them in honour, not in fornication, nor taking them as secret concubines. Whoso denieth the faith, his work is vain and he will be among the losers in the Hereafter” Quran 5:5

    “Say: I find not in the message received by me by inspiration any (meat) forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be dead meat, or blood poured forth, or the flesh of swine, for it is an abomination or, what is impious, (meat) on which a name has been invoked, other than Allah’s. But (even so), if a person is forced by necessity, without wilful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits, thy Lord is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful” Quran 6:145

    “He has only forbidden you dead meat, and blood, and the flesh of swine, and any (food) over which the name of other than Allah has been invoked. But if one is forced by necessity, without wilful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits, then Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful” Quran 16:115

    The following verses are oft-cited when referring to alcohol and Islam:

    “Shaitân (Satan) wants only to excite enmity and hatred between you with intoxicants (alcoholic drinks) and gambling, and hinder you from the remembrance of Allâh and from As-Salât (the prayer). So, will you not then abstain?” Quran 5:91

    “They ask you (O Muhammad) concerning alcoholic drink and gambling. Say: “In them is a great sin, and (some) benefit for men, but the sin of them is greater than their benefit.” And they ask you what they ought to spend. Say: “That which is beyond your needs.” Thus Allâh makes clear to you His Laws in order that you may give thought.” Quran 2:219

    hope that helps wasalam~~~

  • ACCORDING TO MY KNOWLEDGE QURAN ONLY FORBIDS PIG, BLOOD, DEAD ANIMAL, AND ANIMAL KILLED IN ANY ONES NAME EXCEPT ALLAH

Leave a Comment